Class of 2020 inductees

13 May 2020 by Dirk

We are pleased to announce two inductees to the TCFPGA Hall of Fame for the class of 2020.

“ReconOS: Multithreaded Programming for Reconfigurable Computers”
Enno Lübbers and Marco Platzner.
IEEE Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems (TECS), Volume: 9, Issue: 1, October 2009.

“High-Quality, Deterministic Parallel Placement for FPGAs on Commodity Hardware”
Adrian Ludwin, Vaughn Betz and Ketan Padalia.
Proceedings of the 16th International ACM/SIGDA Symposium on Field Programmable Gate Arrays, pp 14.23, February 2008. [endorsement]

In Memoriam: Mike Butts

With deep regret we received the terrible news that our friend and colleague Mike Butts passed away on Sunday, March 29, 2020. Mike served on the TCFPGA Hall-of-Fame Selection Committee since 2019.

Mike was a champion of custom computing with programmable logic, including pioneering work on logic emulation, Ambric-style productive parallel computing with Kahn process networks, soft processors, the time folded Tabula architecture and more. He was a true leader and a fixture of our FCCM community for over 25 years. Moreover, Mike shared with all of us his boundless supply of positivity, good humor, insight, enthusiasm, encouragement, and good counsel, all of which will be dearly missed.

Mike had two papers recognized in the Hall of Fame: